Clayton E. Moneymaker American Legion Post 237


Boys State 2019

                Madison County Boys State Delegates at April 23rd Orientation Dinner.  Photo: John Carson.

The 82nd Alabama Boys State Convention was conducted from May 26th through June 1st at the University of Alabama campus in Tuscaloosa.  There were approximately 635 delegates from throughout the State of Alabama who attended the convention.  Seventy five delegates from 22 high schools and home school organizations in Madison County participated.  For the second year in a row a student from James Clemens High School was elected as the Boys State Governor.  Chris Baker is the 2019 Boys State Governor.  Madison County delegates were elected to 12 of the 31 state-wide positions and 5 Madison County delegates were runners up to the state-wide positions.  

 The American Legion Posts in Madison County transported 49 boys from Huntsville to Tuscaloosa and 30 boys from Tuscaloosa to Huntsville via a 56 passenger Trailways Bus provide by Capital Trailways.  All the boys who committed to ride on the return trip reported to the bus after graduation.

An Orientation Dinner was hosted at Post 237 on April 23rd for the Madison County delegates and their parents.  Yancy Mitchell, Dean of Boys State Counselors, and Mason Laney, 2018 Boys State Governor, were the guest speakers.  The attendance was approximately 180.


Madison County Boys State Delegate Participants:

Bob Jones High School: Baylor Paschal, Mikhail Ramirez, Zach Bone, Will Garrison, Quinn Headen, Grant Hershbine, Riley Irwin, Dayton Malone, Austin Wilson

Columbia  High School: Matthew Unden

Contemporary Education: Riley Worshek

Covenant Christian: Ben Lightfoot

Excalibur Christian: Thomas Ward

Grissom High School: Patrick Gamble, Jacob Greer, Jabin Justin, Dustin Lewis, Hunter Lewis, Josh Manigan, Jackson Mucci, Ming Shen, Aaron Stuart, Jake Thorington, Heath Varmette,  Zach Yeager

                Hazel Green High School: Colin Baeder, Jacob Hall, Jay Moore, Heisman Olszewski, Mason Whitaker, Blake Williams

                Huntsville High School: Robbie Barrie, Blake Daniel

               James Clemons High School: Cole Alia, Chris Baker, Assem Belhadj, Campbell Brown,   Jackson Burchfield, David Cassel, Nacer Harris, Jalen Lewis, Samuel Sepulveda,  Kody Shively

                Jemison High School: Desmond Pearson, Brandon Tucker

                Lee High School: Dakota Werndli

            Madison Academy: Asa Barnett, Grant Frame, Clay Pitsinos, Jackson Word, Parker Dean, Jacob Sharp, David Tipton

            New Century High School: Anas Alrobiai

            New Hope High School: Camden Edwards, Isaac Zanbergen

            Providence Classical: Drew Dutton, Josh Shelton

            Randolph School: Patrick Ahearn, John Hedayat, Bryce Johnson, Jack Maurer

            Sparkman High School: Jackson Mayes, Kody Purinton, Keaton Rohlfs

            St. John Paul II High School: Dominic Bechen, Adler Briniger, Seth Brown, Bryan Moss,  Joseph Shrontz, John (JP) Sollohub, Peter(PJ) Tisler, Ethan Underwood,  Brendan Yee

            Whitesburg Christian: Eli Bishop


Madison County Boys State Delegate Positions:

                Chris Baker (James Clemens HS): Governor

                Jackson Mucci (Grissom HS): U.S. Senate, Place 2

                Seth Brown (St. John Paul II HS): State Auditor

                Aaron Stuart (Grissom HS): President Public Service Comm.

                Jay Moore (Hazel Green HS): Commissioner of Agriculture

                Ben Lightfoot (Covenant Christian): Associate Justice, Place 6

                Hunter Lewis (Grissom HS): Associate Justice, Place 6

                Blake Williams (Hazel Green HS): Associate Commissioner Public Service Comm., Place 1                              

                Campbell Brown (James Clemens HS): Associate Court of Civil Appeals, Place 4

                Patrick Ahearn (Randolph School): Associate Justice, Place 3

                John Hedayat (Randolph School): Court of Civil Appeals, Place 3

                Joseph Shrontz (St. John Paul II HS): Runner Up, State Treasurer

                Grant Hershbine (Buckhorn HS): Runner Up, Criminal Appeals, Associate, Place 4

                Patrick Gamble (Grissom HS): Runner Up, Associate Justice, Place 6

                Heath Varmette (Grissom HS): Runner Up, Criminal Court of Appeals, Associate, Place 3

                Blake Daniel (Huntsville HS): Runner Up, Associate Commissioner Public Service Comm., Place 1

                Heisman Olszewski (Hazel Green HS): Runner Up, Chief Justice


Source: Text Report 2nd. V. Cdr. T. Paone

Photo: J. Carson

Ed. K. Carpenter, Post Historian